Skip to main content

8 thoughts on “Ask a Question

  1. Hi Matt. I have some questions about Modifying (with edges+consequences) that I will illustrate with an example:

    Miles Shipley has tracked the spy to a side street and tries to stab him, so he can retrieve the secret documents. He starts with a lousy 322, and the spy starts with 553. Shipley pulls out his Knife Fighter edge, viciously slashing at the spy. He rolls a 5, and now has 5322 vs. the spy’s 553. Here’s the thing: the spy is still winning.

    1. At this point, does the spy have to modify or bow out?
    2. If he has to bow out, he loses the documents but doesn’t take any consequences, right?
    3. Or does Shipley just go again, since he is still the loser?
    4. And how do you know when BOTH parties have run out of edges+consequences when the first one to run out has to bow out?

    Hey, thanks in advance. Nice game.

  2. Hi Johnstone,

    Yep, the Spy has to modify or bow out. It’s his “turn”, and those are his options.

    If he does bow out while winning, he doesn’t get consequences, and the winner narrates how he loses his goal.

    Not sure how to answer 4, each edge or consequence can only be used once each conflict, so you should know how many you have left and it’s up to the player whether they use it and the group whether they think it’s reasonable use.

    Hope that’s useful. You might want to check out the Codex for additional information and optional rules tweaks.

  3. Yes that clears most of it up.

    And Shipley can bow out after flubbing a roll, before the Spy goes, so he doesn’t suffer even greater consequences, right?

    Once you have used up all available edges and consequences, do you have to bow out if your opponent has more that can be invoked? Or are you just done, and it’s up to them to beat you with their final modifications?

    Thanks again.

  4. Yep, if Shipley’s player flubs things, he can bow out knowing what level of consequence his character will take. Early on in the game Conventions and Motifs mean this is less likely (as dice change a lot), but later on rolls tend to stand more.

    If you use your last edge it’s still up to the next player to modify to stay in. Which means you can just stick things out, in the hope that the antagonist isn’t willing or able to use the edges they have left.

    And thanks for buying the game! Where did you pick it up?

  5. A friend of mine bought it from IPR for me.

    The premise sounded neato, but it was Paul Tevis’ review that made me want it.

    Likely I’ll be back here when I get a chance to play it some.

  6. A question about Good Karma in The Agency. I understand how one gains bad karma and how one can erase it. However, how does one gain good karma and how much does good karma does a player start with to activate their boons?

    Thanks,

    Hoplite

  7. Hi Hoplite!

    from the PDF “Players can have their character act according to their flaw and build up some good Karma. ”

    Which means that if the character is say, obnoxious, and acts that way around somebody they really shouldn’t insult, they gain karma to spend on bonuses.

    Each player should start with one point of “good” karma too.

  8. Thanks!

    I actually slowed downed and read through carefully and now I see it.

    Great game btw.

    Hoplite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *