This page is for common queries and questions about Covenant rules and setting. These are official corrections to the text and lessons learned from two years of play. Optional rules can be found (and contributed to) on the Codex.

You can ask a question in this thread or drop me an email at matt at realms dot co dot uk

Turn order

Experience has shown that two player conflicts should work exactly the same as multi-character ones. So, each exchange of a conflict the player who is losing must go first in modifying dice.

Conventions and Motifs

Page 62 is in-correctly worded. You can use a re-roll on any of the dice on the table, not just your own as the text implied.

Clarifying Arenas

Arenas limit the way in which you can use edges. In a social conflict your character can only use the edge “armed and dangerous” to threaten. If that conflict happens to be with the goal of “convince my superior of my innocence” that might not be the best time to use that edge!

Normally the same goal cannot be attempted in the same scene. Arenas allow you to try for the same goal in a follow-on conflict, but via different means. Bow out of (or lose) the initial conflict, take the current consequences, and reframe in the new arena with new dice.


From experience with play, NPCs should start with seven, rather than six, trait slots. This means players must start resolving truisms if they want to be sure of success against NPCs.

It’s important, and the text doesn’t stress this enough, to find a level at which the group is happy with how relevant traits are to both conflicts and arenas. If in doubt err on the side of caution, and if anybody playing feels a trait is being crowbarred into a situation, that trait is invalid.

Relationships and Conflicts

The reference to relationships and involving them in conflicts on page 60 needs clarification. If you use a relationship edge in a conflict, and they are not already involved directly, then that character is at risk of receiving consequences from the conflict. It’s also worth noting that any relationship with the character’s opponent can also be brought into the conflict.

If your character loses, then any levels of success from the final result of the conflict can be assigned to the relationships as consequences. So, if you bowed out on 1,2,2,3 and the winner had 2,4,4,5 your opponent has 3 levels of success, which could be split into one chapter consequence for you and one temporary consequence for the relationship. This is entirely at the option of the winning player and some consequence must always affect the character who lost the conflict.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *